Student trying to fix PC

brutusthebear

Honorable
Dec 16, 2012
Good day to all who grace this thread, I am a student who's PC has decided to break right in the middle of my exam period. I am trying to fix and diagnose it myself any help you guys can offer is great, I am looking to learn from this experience so please link literature or relevant information, thanks!
I have already swung through the checklist posted elsewhere on this website and as far as I can tell I have accounted for what is listed there.

ibibl-lp mobo
24pin atx power
4pin atx cpu power
9 pin connection for reset power button etc

month ago computer started giving out every time I tried to turn it on 5s then it would restart, I eventually fixed this by taking out the mobo battery and then replacing it (same battery) I checked it's voltage and its still giving me 3v as expected.

jump to earlier yesterday, pc is off when i get home and wont respond to the power button despite the fact that it is recieving power from the psu ( I checked the psu with the paperclip test green to black and the fan of the psu starts and such) So this means that I should be able to start the pc from the 9pin that the powerbutton is connected to I go to do this but its not working (admittedly I could have been doing it wrong but I essentially tried a paperclip a knifeblade and a pairof scisors to bridge pins 8 and 7 and start the pc (doesnt work zzz)

So at this point im kind of stuck, I susepect mobo failure since the previous problem was solved via silly manipulation of mobo battery, how should I go about testing the mobo to confirm failure and is there any insight you guys can offer me (My local pc stores are actually jokes/hidden camera shows not knowing anything actually)
Here is some literature about my mobo
ipibl-lb http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&lc=en&docname=c01324212