Sign in with
Your question

Monitor flickering, going black

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 16, 2011 2:35:09 PM

So today I got an LG L196WTQ-WF from a family friend who didn't want her computer or monitor anymore, and I'm using it as a second monitor. But the problem is it's flickering a *** load and also turning black for a couple of seconds and then lighting back up and flickering again, when it goes black the power remains on. I've seen this monitor working like an hour ago on a different computer, so I know it's not the monitor that's broken, and seeing as I'm running two monitors on my graphics card (Radeon 5770) I'm assuming it's not the graphics card, but hey, maybe I'm wrong, I'm no expert.

Any help would be great.
a c 218 U Graphics card
a b C Monitor
September 16, 2011 3:53:37 PM

Have you tried using it by itself to verify it works properly? Also, verify that all of your video/monitor connections are firmly connected.
m
l
September 16, 2011 3:55:12 PM

Connects are definitely connected securely, and no, it's not working by itself on my computer, but it was on a different computer.
m
l
Related resources
a c 218 U Graphics card
a b C Monitor
September 16, 2011 3:59:37 PM

What type of cable are you using (VGA, DVI, HDMI)? Are you using any adapters? Have you tried swapping cables with your known, good monitor?
m
l
September 16, 2011 4:03:48 PM

No adapters, the non-working monitor is using VGA, working one is DVI, swapped them, same thing.
m
l
a c 218 U Graphics card
a b C Monitor
September 16, 2011 4:07:10 PM

Sounds like your "new" monitor may be defective. Before declaring it deceased, I suggest you go into its menu and see if you can set it to its original default configuration. You could have a configuration issue in the monitor itself (not likely, but possible).

Do you have another PC/notebook to connect to for troubleshooting?
m
l
September 16, 2011 4:09:11 PM