Love_Peace

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2011
Hello, this is my first time building a computer, which I am very excited for. I've done lots of research and asked many questions here and around the web. I think I have a basic understanding of components, pricing, assembly, etc. I've asked a few questions in this forum before, but now I'm asking for advice on the build as a whole. Here's the info:

Approximate Purchase Date: First few weeks of December

Budget Range: $500 - $600 USD

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, College-level programming, Web Browsing, Movies

Parts Not Required: Monitor, Mouse, Keyboard, Headset

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon

Parts Preferences: AMD CPU

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: Basically, I would like to be able to play BF3 and other games on high, possibly ultrahigh graphics. Also, I would not be against going over budget by $20-$30.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Part list permalink / Part price breakdown by merchant

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($109.99 @ CompUSA)
- I chose this CPU for its price and performance. I read an article here on Tom's HW that it's the best bang/buck at its price range for gaming computers.

Motherboard: ASRock M3A770DE ATX AM3 Motherboard ($62.99 @ SuperBiiz)
- I was deadset on this mobo because it was cheap, and only had 2 RAM slots, then I realized that it was a microATX board and that it probably wouldn't be sufficient for gaming. I went the listed mobo instead.

Memory: G.Skill 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1333 Memory ($26.99 @ Newegg)
- Looks cool, thought it would look nice on the mobo. Also, I went for 1333 instead of 1600 because I told that the recommended speed on RAM an AMD processor or mobo was at 1333.