Sign in with
Your question

Advice for a Canadian build under $2000

Last response: in Systems
November 14, 2011 8:16:27 PM

Hey guys. I want to get the strongest PC between a $1700-2000 budget. This is my first build. I did some research, made a wishlist on NewEgg, and seeking your advice because I really want to make this count. Forgive me for being a n00b if my questions and wishlist seem stupid. I'm gonna try to be as brief as possible so as not to bore you.

Approximate Purchase Date: As soon as possible, no later than a week or two. But I also don't want to buy until I'm absolutely sure.

Budget Range: $1700-2000 CAD (Also I don't know exactly what rebates are or how to use them, will ask later)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: All Adobe programs (Photoshop, AfterEffects, Flash etc) and other image editing/painting (coral draw etc), video editing (Sony Vegas, Final Cut Pro etc), animation (Toon Boom, Maya, 3D Studio Max etc), gaming, surfing, movies bla bla bla. I might also use music recording and editing in the future (like Abelton Live and such).

Parts Not Required: :(  

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Nothing specific. I was going to buy the parts from a computer store, but my wishlist on NewEgg looks pretty good to me. If there are better prices somewhere else please tell me!

Parts Preferences: The best my money can buy. I'm talking about the biggest bang for my buck!

Overclocking: Don't know if I'll be needing it, but best to have it anyways! 

I'll just show what I came up with so far:

ASUS P8Z68-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS $204.99

Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000 $329.99

COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R1 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler $36.99

2x  EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1563-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti $499.98 ($249.99 each)