buklao0222

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2012
Hello everyone its my first time building my own gaming rig (a decent. low budget! of around $900! XD ). I have little knowledge on this but I dont consider myself as a complete newb :)

Im planning on buying 2 Radeon HD 6850s and doing a cross fire.
I looked around the fourms regarding this question but they seem to be 3 - 4 months old.

Since im on a low budget, I would prefer an AMD processor. So which AMD processor is the best for this set of video cards??? Im willing to spend about $200 - $250 on the cpu alone.

Here are my options
FX-6100
Phenom II X6 1035T
FX-8120

Or any other CPUs you can suggest

I guess what im really asking is: Which processor is the best for 2 6850s? I dont want to buy a CPU what will outrank the GPUs but rather have the same/similar rank as the GPUs

Thanks!

R3fa

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2012
I have the FX6100 and it is a great performer. When it comes to workloads like ripping DVD's and compressing your C:\ volume, this thing smokes the competition. The Phenom II series is dead I think, at least newegg.com has limited supply left. I'm not sure on the 8120 but 8 cores could be fun? :D

As for gaming with the FX6100 I usually only play Crysis and CoD4 so I don't really know how it handles it. I have 5770x2, but the games run smooth.

Also recommend the G.Skill sniper ram 1. it looks freaking sweet, 2. 8gb at 1866 is blazing blazing fast!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231460

Cheers!

--R3fa

buklao0222

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2012

Can i ask you what fps you are getting with Crysis 2? I assume you have everything maxed out?

jemm

Distinguished
Hello,