Altonymous

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2011
Hey guys I found this article on this site and I was wondering what the community thinks.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/microatx-gaming-overclocked,3039.html

In addition to building out the system itself I'm thinking I'd like to add 2x 30" monitors. So any advice on that would be appreciated as well.

Here's what I'm looking to do with the computer.

#1 - Gaming (Windows 7 x64)
#2 - Hackintosh (Development, Java, Ruby, ObjectiveC)
- I do development for a living and it would be nice to be able to switch over without having to get a second machine. I hate developing on a windows machine. Worst case I can install Debian)
#3 - Make the footprint smaller
#4 - Overclock
#5 - Stay close to the budget of this machine
#6 - Set up an external NAS device for my main storage so the internal storage on the machine isn't as crucial so may 2 SSD drives to I can put Windows on one and Linux/Hackintosh on the other.

I'm really floor space limited right now and I'd like to invest that space in monitors sitting on the computer desk rather than the system.

I dont know much about apple/hackintosh but I believe you need to use hardware that apple have written drivers for . They only do that if they use the hardware themselves .
I would be looking at hackintosh user forums for lists of compatible hardware .

That machine is a massively powerful gamer with an extreme cooling solution .Do you really need the gaming performance? You havent mentioned gaming at all .

If you are not gaming then its possible to build an even smaller mini-ITX rig with a 2600k and Z 68 chipset motherboard

g-unit1111

Titan
That article really makes me want to build a Micro ATX system for my next build. I didn't know it was really possible to get a full fleged system with such a small footprint.