Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Dell Dimension 3000 Upgrade

Last response: in Systems
November 15, 2011 9:43:29 PM

Hi this is my first time posting on these forums. I had read a couple other topics but non of them were specific enough for my build. I got this PC awhile back and It has been running just fine. But now it's just not meeting my daily demands. I was wondering if i got a new case, motherboard, and processor would I be able to just transfer all my other parts to the new case. If not could you recommend a cheap build with about an average experience index in windows 7.

If anyone wants to help my computer specs can be browsed here
November 15, 2011 10:03:46 PM

Welcome to Tom's Hardware Forums!

Here are the specs on your computer: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim3000/e...

I do not advise you to transfer any components from this computer on to a new build.

If you want to improve the performance of the existing computer, you may add RAM (DDR) to bring the total RAM to 2 GB which is what the system will support.

For a new build, list out your requirements and your budget in the 'New Builds' section.
m
l
November 15, 2011 10:32:19 PM

Ok i'll get right on that thank you very much. :) 
m
l
Related resources
November 15, 2011 10:35:20 PM

If gaming is your thing I would suggest upgrading the Video Card but i highly doubt your power supply can handle even a decent upgrade. RAM is a great idea and will provide a noticable performance upgrade most likely.
m
l
November 15, 2011 10:43:57 PM

My oldest desktop is a Dell Dimension 4600, and I improved the performance by upgrading RAM. I also changed the hard disk from 40 GB to 250 GB which was the max the motherboard would support. The hard disk on this is IDE.
m
l
November 16, 2011 9:29:47 AM