Sign in with
Your question

Is Intel Sandy Bridge GPU (HD2000) good enough for HD htpc use?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 19, 2011 7:19:14 PM

I'm seeking to build a HTPC, but this is my first build; while technically capable, I have no experience of specifying individual components in a machine having, up until this time, bought pre-built systems. While I'm able to get a general idea of the overall performance of a machine (having kept myself up-to-date on the latest hardware releases via Tom's Hardware for the last few years) I've no idea whether individual components are capable of what I need them to do, or whether they are just overkill.

As previously mentioned, I'm intending to built a HTPC; however, all it really has to do is be a media server. In the short term I have almost 700 DVDs that need to be stored on hard drive for easy access; in the future I will probably replace these DVDs with Blu-ray versions, so I might end up pushing the storage much higher.

My intention is to connect it directly to a HD TV and home theatre amp / receiver, running Ubuntu linux 64 bit; using XBMC as the media software. I don't need to receive / record live TV; I'll probably use Chrome to watch online TV if I can't get it thought XBMC. Really all it's got to do initially is access and play back DVD .iso images from a locally-connected hard drive.

I was originally thinking I'd use a discrete GPU - somewhere around the HD 5670 / 6670 level - but then I realised that, as I'm using Ubuntu linux, I'm not intending to game on it at all. It will only be used to display (up to) HD audio / video stream to a connected HD TV. I know that the Intel is pretty low-powered in comparison with AMD or nVidia GPUs, but my needs are really quite modest - just accelerating the playback of DVDs (from the beginning) and Blu-rays (in the future).