Sign in with
Your question

Noob here! Rate my rig please!

Last response: in Systems
November 17, 2011 5:31:42 AM

Hey Guys,

I'm very new to the forums and this was actually my very first build.
I want to thank all of you for indirectly guiding me through my first build (as I have been lurking and searching threads instead of actually posting myself).

Although I was/am extremely naive and nervous when I built my first rig, I also found it extremely fun, challenging and rewarding as well!

It was all a great experience...researching all the parts, indecisively determining which parts I should actually buy, finding the best deals whether it be on newegg, tigerdirect, or frys, constantly tracking the orders online in anticipation for the arrival of all the parts, researching methods of assembling the parts together, researching methods of overclocking, trying as best as possible to stay within my set budget but ultimately failing, and the most exciting thing of all....hitting the power button and waiting to hear that glorious single post beep!

Ultimately, I am not here to brag, but just wanted to share my story with you guys and as well as to request any feedback, input, or suggestions as to whether I should buy anything else or change any settings to better my rig! I also included a picture of some of the parts sitting in their boxes and a screenshot of the system specs. Thanks guys!

CPU

Intel i5 3.3 Ghz 2500k (Overclocked to 4.5 Ghz)

I know that since it is my first build that I shouldn't have overclocked unless I really knew what I was doing but I couldn't help myself and did anyways. I did a 12 hour prime 95 stress test and temps seemed stable though.

CPU COOLER

COOLER MASTER Hyper 212

Not the best cooler out there but I've heard great things about it and it keeps my temps down low enough!

MOTHERBOARD

ASUS P8P67 DELUXE

With all the stories of motherboards frying if not installed properly, this was simply terrifying to install!

GPU

EVGA NVIDIA GTX570