Sign in with
Your question

Odd boot errors

Last response: in Systems
November 18, 2011 9:00:19 PM

So I finally put my new FX build together but I'm stuck on a very weird problem...

I tried installing W7 from the DVD, with AHCI enabled on all SATA headers. No go, won't boot from the disc. I switched two of the SATA headers over to IDE and stuck my optical drive on one and finally got the disc to load. This is my first time installing 7, but I had a hell of a time getting the thing to boot back after the few restarts it does mid install. Sometimes the thing would hang on "loading operating system" and sometimes I would just get a blinking cursor. I did find that if I go into the boot menu and select my OS drive (which is set to 1st boot order at this point, out of frustration...) I could get it to boot. So now I'm stuck, I can boot the thing as long as I'm sitting through the thing at post pressing f12 like mad (It won't always bring up the boot menu which makes me think there are bigger problems.)

Obviously this isn't that great, in fact it's completely intolerable for me. This is a work PC and I need to be able to remote into it at any time from anywhere. If it looses power and doesn't boot back up properly I'd be in a little bit of a mess.

I've been doing some research and I guess it may have something to do with my mobo and BIOS that were probably pushed out too fast. I guess Gigabyte is having problems with their FX BIOS upgrades and getting stuck at "loading operating system" is a symptom of that. I haven't seen anyone say they could boot by selecting the primary drive again in the boot menu though.

The build consists of...

GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3

AMD FX-8120

CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 1600 (I haven't run memtest yet, I plan on doing that over the weekend. Seems to score out OK in the windows experience thing though. 7.6!)