I5 vs i7, 8gb DDR3 or less?

Ninja_kittens

Honorable
Feb 19, 2012
Hello,

I am relatively new to the world of PCs and their hardware. Entering college next year, I want to invest in a laptop that is portable, but performs well so that I can put off buying a new computer (laptop or desktop) in the next five years.

I began by looking through Best Buy's selection and quickly ran into a problem. What do I really need in a laptop? of course I gravitate towards the newest tech (i7 processors) and biggest RAM (generally 8gb for laptops). However, reading through the various forums on this website and looking at benchmarks online, I really have not reached a conclusion yet as to what I really need.

I have gravitated towards the Asus u46e-bal7. In short, it is a 14" with i7-2640M dual core processor that clocks at 2.8 Ghz (turbo 3.5 Ghz) and has 8 gb of RAM
it has an attractive price at around $800 (depends where you look)
Do I really need a machine this powerful? or could I save money by "downgrading" to an i5 or less RAM?

Please keep in mind that I do not plan to be gaming on this (I have a playstation for that so intel integrated graphics works fine for me (i think though i could be wrong)) and I am not exactly sure about my future needs for computing and dont mind buying a little more than I need.

Thank you!

You can be certain we know a LOT less about your future computing needs.

There won't be a huge difference in dual core CPU performance between the i5 (2.5Ghz) and i7 (2.8Ghz). Certainly nothing 'life-altering'.

But the price difference (U46E-XS51)? About $5? Which includes an extra 4GB RAM.

Or were you talking about a i5 CPU in a less expensive laptop?

Ninja_kittens

Honorable
Feb 19, 2012
Thanks for replying!