G

Really depends on what you plan on doing with it..

***Hey I run Intel... but let's get real***

G

With that kind of HDD I seriously doubt you need RAID, but it still depends on your plans.

- Better go Green than Blue!

G

Why the hell not, your read speeds will go thru the roof and the cost is only about $60.00 for the RAID card and your time to rebuild the machine. The one down side is that with a striped array if one drive fails the whole system goes down and there is no way to recover the data.

Mike

I want to put together a system for the home. I don't want to upgrade it every six months, so I want something that will still be fast in a couple of years. I will use it for games, internet & CD/RW stuff mostly. I've never worked with raid systems before and want to know the pitfalls.

G

That depends on what you want. If you want software RAID, which is slower but requires no hardware (useful if you have run out of IRQ's or DMA channels), upgrade to Windows 2000. This giuves you RAID 0 and 1. If you want hardware RAID, you need to do some comparison shopping for a good RAID card that supports the type of RAID you want.