Sign in with
Your question

Concern about my fps

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 23, 2011 1:16:21 PM

Hey everyone ive read a lot of great info on this site, this is my first time posting. I had a concern about the fps im getting from a game called starcraft 2 on my new rig I just built. on ultra setting im gettin like a range of 68-90 depending on whats going on at that moment. From what I read on the net systems with what appear to me to be lesser systems are getting more, well over 100. Any advice would be great, here are my specs.

Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost)
EVGA SuperClocked 015-P3-1582-AR GeForce GTX 580 (Fermi
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
Western Digital Caviar Black WD2002FAEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5"
ASUS P8Z68-M Pro LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

More about : concern fps

September 23, 2011 1:31:48 PM

Maybe they are overclocked? Or playing at lower resolutions? Have you disabled hyperthreading (no clue if that'd affect things much but why not throw it out there, right?)?

Regardless of what the case might be (with the exception of something being wrong with the gpu which I doubt), your fps is nothing to sneeze at. Unless you have the eyes of a God you probably can't even tell the difference at that point, so try not to think too hard about it and enjoy.
m
l
September 23, 2011 1:33:47 PM

To clarify if im not looking at my base where the most action is taking place it does go up, if im looking at a small skirmish its around 105 or if its a spot where i just have troops running it goes up around 120. over 200 if I look at the fog but i guess thats bound to happen there. So maybe im just not understanding what there basing those fps claims on but I just wanna make sure everything is working properly.
m
l
Related resources
September 23, 2011 1:35:33 PM

Lotharian said: