Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Almost all new components and still overheating ><

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
February 21, 2012 4:15:12 AM

This is my first time posting on a forum…I am having some overheating issue that I just can’t figure out. I am not a computer guru but I have decent user knowledge. I bought the computer from cyberpower. My current build is:

CPU: AMD FX-6100 (3.3 ghz) – Black Edition
Motherboard: Gigabyte 970A-UD3
CPU cooling: Coolmaster Hyper N520
Arctic Silver Thermal Paste
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460
Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 16gb (4x4) but set to 1333 in bois, was getting boot fail errors
Xtremegear 800 Watt Power Supply

I have fans on the power supply, the front, the back, and side panel
About 5 months ago, out of nowhere, my cpu started to heat up. I replaced the cpu, the motherboard, the heatsink/cooling on the processor, and the ram. I am at a loss. I will idle around 15c-20c but under load (which me playing Rift) I will get up to 40c-45c. I use CoreTemp to monitor my core temperatures and I am routinely getting a “core 2 is critical” error, which core is critical varies. The only things I can think of is that I have installed the cpu cooling fan wrong, and have the fans blowing the wrong direction or my power supply has poop’d out. I have been reading through the forums trying to find out if the temperatures are ok but the info varies so much I am not sure. AMD site says 70c is my max temp, not sure if I am being paranoid or if something is wrong. I can put a picture of build up if that will help, not too sure what info is needed to get some ideas.

Sorry for this being so long winded but I am desperate. Any help would be great.

More about : components overheating

a b à CPUs
February 21, 2012 4:41:15 AM