Sign in with
Your question

Motherboard will not post with more than one RAM stick installed

Last response: in Memory
December 28, 2012 4:03:43 AM

Hello, build noob here doing my second build, and having the same problem I had with the first.

I have a handful of 2GB RAM sticks sitting around (I need to wait for paycheck to come through before I can pick up some Corsair Vengeance) and I'm trying to get things set up.

If I put one stick in DIMM2, the board posts perfectly, lets me go into setup, recognizes all SATA attachments.

If I have one stick in DIMM2 and one stick in ANY other slot, the computer powers on for about five seconds, then dies, then restarts over and over again. No post, nothing.

I've tried this with every stick of RAM I have, to the same result. Any single stick in DIMM2, and I'm fine. Any combination of two or more sticks, and nothing.

The weird thing is, the first build I did about a year ago did THE EXACT SAME THING. I ended up settling for running that one on a single 4GB stick.

Sooo I'm guessing I'm doing something wrong. If it turns out that, for some reason, ALL my RAM is bad (is it possible for RAM to not support dual channel?) I'll find out tomorrow when I buy some better RAM. Are there any other things I might need to do? Do I need to, I dunno, manually enable dual channel somewhere?

RAM: Tried both Hitachi and Antec DDR3-1333, 5 different 2GB sticks
CPU: i7-3770K
Motherboard: MSI Z77A-G45
a b } Memory
December 28, 2012 5:27:22 AM

probabily a faulty motherboard
try with one stick only and check ever slot
if it does not boot on other slots then its motherboard's fault, replace it

if it boots with single stick and in all slots then it still can be board that it is not handling more than 1 stick correctly

check those ram in other (properly working build) to see if they are the culprit or not
m
l
December 28, 2012 2:00:25 PM