My first build. Best pc on a budget under $300

dark ariel7

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2011
This is my first build and i am not a tech savvy so please keep the geek to a minimum *hides his geek club card*I am only 15 so no hardware experience what so ever.

My budget is iron clad this includes shipping taxes and any other additional fees.
i dont need an OS i am a linux person (mostly because its free)i also dont need a hard drive ive got an old ide 40GB (from the dell dimensions 8100 im using to type this) so keep in mind that the mobo has to have an ide, no peripherals and no monitor. I dont need a cd reader but it would be nice

I am not a gamer but wouldnt mind trying games like WOW or the like.
The most important part is that it HAS to be future proof, i dont want to have a 300 dollar paper weigh in a year or two :pfff: . It of coarse will be an amd build so im guessing radeon would probably work best(correct me if im wrong).
it has to have hd graphics and an hdmi to hook up to my flat screen

I do care about aestetics so please no cruddy looking black boxes.
This is what i have thought of so far:
Phenom ii x2 565 $115
Biostar A880g+ $60
SENTEY Professional 3272 Mid Tower Case w/Power Supply $40
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 Model F3-10666CL9D-4GBXL $25
TOTAL=~$240

I know i said $300 but closer to $250 would be better.

I was also wondering if a Athlon ii x4 would be better for a little less in price.
I doubt that i will need a dedicated graphics card because like i said i wont be playing the latest games or anything. Do you think that i need any more ram and if so why?
The more you explain the better.

last thing is that i would like to be able to oc and optimice the whole thing to get a little more bang for my buck.

gmcizzle

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2009
I would strongly recommend going with a quad-core if you want to avoid it being a paper weight in a few years.