Sign in with
Your question

$3250 Super Computer Build Help

Last response: in Systems
November 21, 2011 7:13:32 AM

Hey guys! I am looking to build a new system for some 3D Design/Animation and Graphic Design with mediocre gaming on the side (Diablo 3, League of Legends, Counter Strike: Global Offensive, etc). My budget is fairly high so I know I can build a pretty beast computer. There is where I run into my first problem. Since I have never built a computer of this price tag before I am afraid I am a bit in over my head with the available options. So I come to you guys with what I know I want to get and hope you guys can help me fill in the blanks. Thanks in advance

CPU: i7 3690x
Mobo: No Clue
Ram: No Clue, I like corsair and g.skill (I understand to get the full potential it will need to be tweaked in the BIOS but I have never done this. I also heard the i7 can only use 1333 anything else will be downgraded?)
PSU: No Clue, something around 1000w as I plan to get Dual GPU either now or in the future
GPU: No Preference between nVidia and ATI I just want whats best

As you can see I am pretty lost with all the new upgrades and fancy doo-hickies hanging off the motherboards these days :pt1cable: 
November 21, 2011 7:33:01 AM

First of all ... the 1333MHz limitation is on the standard Sandy Bridge. Sandy Bridge E can handle up to 2100MHz I think (or just 1866MHz) so I suggest that you go all out on 4 high end RAM sticks from either Corsair, Patriot, or GSkill.

Motherboard ... I personally like the GIGABYTE boards at the moment as they have excellent Sandy Bridge offerings. Something like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128533 would be brilliant for a HUGE gaming system, or the UD3 version is a but more compact (ATX rather than E-ATX, and a bit cheaper)http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128532