My laptop crashed and wont load

Status
Not open for further replies.

CameronVeb

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2011
Hello,
Tonight right before bed and about 30 seconds before I was going to hit the shut down command on my laptop( specs below) my computer did a BSOD with a failed physical memory dump and shut down. Now it won't load and the recovery won't attempt any more. Since the BSOD it has a click and single beep. I have a second hard drive in the computer but I can't even access that either. I can enter setup menu and multi boot menu. If I let it sit for 20 minutes to load it brings up a notice saying my windows 7 isn't genuine and loads a factory set up. It is genuine, came from toshiba and I havent had a problem till now.

Spec I know:
Toshiba qosmio x500
Windows 7 professional
Intel I-7
Nvidia video ( not positive on model)
2 hdd

I don't know what's wrong but I need my laptop, I am a college student that is about to enter another semester in less than a week. Can I recover? Is it a driver issue? Hard ware? What?

Solution
Make yourself a bootable CD.
Ubuntu Desktop You can build a bootable CD or USB flash drive with a complete (non-windows) operating system. Power on and use the F12 key to choose the boot device (CD/DVD or USB) and use the Try It option instead of the Install option.

If your laptop runs Ubuntu OK (and it should since you made it to Safe Mode) you know its limited to an issue with your hard drive or Win7 operating system. If Ubuntu won't run it's probably hardware related to the laptop.

If Ubuntu is running, you should be able to use it's file manager to browse your HDDs and even copy off personal files and data for backup purposes.

CameronVeb

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2011