Sign in with
Your question
Solved

$1K Gaming Rig (First Build Ever)

Last response: in Systems
November 22, 2011 9:18:48 AM

Hi all, this is my first time ever building my own so I appreciate any advice you can offer. I could use advice on choosing the MOBO. Are all the parts I chose compatible and is a 750W PSU enough for them? Keep in mind, I may SLI another 560ti someday.

Approximate Purchase Date: mid-December

Budget Range: $1000

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, photoshop, homework, watching movies

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU, Nvidia GPU

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: maybe someday

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Here's a link to the parts list on Newegg

MOBO: MSI P67A-GD65 (B3) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core
GPU: EVGA 01G-P3-1561-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti FPB (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
HDD: SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
PSU: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX750-S-B 750W Continuous @40°C ,80 PLUS Certified, ATX12V v2.2 & EPS12V v2.91, SLI Ready CrossFire Ready
Case: Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Cooling: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm CPU Cooler

More about : gaming rig build

November 22, 2011 4:41:55 PM

If I plan to OC, is there a difference between the regular vs. 'superclocked' versions of the 560ti?
m
l
November 24, 2011 5:48:03 PM

Thanksgiving bump
m
l
Related resources
November 25, 2011 6:08:54 AM

I have a cooler just like that. Took the fan off it cause all it did was build up dust and the thing STILL keeps the cpu cool enough.