Sign in with
Your question
Solved

HTPC First Build

Last response: in Systems
November 22, 2011 12:29:00 PM

Hello,

I want to build an HTPC for my parents as a Christmas Gift. They have an older TV (not flatscreen) they will eventually go to flatscreen when the current TV dies.

The primary things I am looking for is
1. Something easy to use
2. Works as a DVR from cable (lots of storage)
3. Can watch one cable channel and record another.
4. Can watch netflix (needs to be able to use and have support for wireless card)

5. If it can use Windows 7 with Media Center or Linux with Myth TV or another Open Source Linux Distro that will work with a remote, wifi, can watch one channel, record another.

6. Can burn Recorded TV shows to DVD and can Play DVD's

7. Has a remote control that will work with Windows or Linux

8. Supports wired and wireless internet

So I have no idea what hardware, case, etc. I need to do this as I am new to the HTPC. I am also trying to keep the cost down and do not want to overbuy. The current TV does not have any HDMI ports, it has coax and RCA jacks.

More about : htpc build

November 24, 2011 7:39:58 PM

50 views and no replies.... Am I looking for something that doesnt exist or asking the wrong questions ?

I did find this card which looks like it will allow me to watch one channel and record another
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250

http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hvr2250.htm...

I would like to put this into a mini itx type case so I need recommendations on motherboard, case, processor. I want to use a large hard drive as well 1TB or larger.

The mobo, wireless card, and tuner card will need to work with both windows 7 and Linux
m
l

Best solution

a c 92 B Homebuilt system
November 25, 2011 3:11:20 AM

Quote:
50 views and no replies.... Am I looking for something that doesnt exist or asking the wrong questions ?

Slow day 'round here - I wouldn't worry too much about it. :lol: 

Quote:

1. Something easy to use