Sign in with
Your question

$1200 Gaming PC - Help a girl out! Need advice for my first build.

Last response: in Systems
November 22, 2011 3:04:43 PM

Hi everyone! This is my first post - see below and thank you in advanced.

Approximate Purchase Date: I'd like to have it in time for the New Year

Budget Range: $1000 - $1300 Before rebates (this could be flexible depending on the situation)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming (Diablo 3, Starcraft, Old Republic) is most important to me. I'll also use it for office work and video streaming.

Parts Not Required: Speakers, mouse, keyboard

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com (but I'm open to suggestions)

Parts Preferences: I don't have any preferences

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: Up for grabs - I still need to buy a monitor, looking at this? Suggestions?
http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-VW246H-24-Inch-Widescreen-Mo...

Additional Comments:

I'm a college student graduating this December and I wanted to build myself a graduation/birthday/Christmas present. But I'm a little unsure where to start. Originally, I was looking at Tom's $1000 Enthusiast PC, but then a friend of mine suggested we build it together. Last night, these are the parts that he picked out. I have no idea what's good and what's not, so this is where I need some help.

Firstly, I need to make everything is compatible and fits my needs. As I outlined earlier in this post, I plan to game mainly with this computer, but I won't be playing any heavy duty action or FPS games. If anyone has any recommendations, about what you think would be a good fit for me, or if you could look over the below parts and let me know if they all seem to work together, I would greatly appreciate it.

Also, I'm thinking of buying a SteelSeries mouse and a nice gaming keyboard, so recommendations on that end would be helpful too.

Motherboard:
ASUS M5A99X EVO AM3+ AMD 990X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS