Help with balancing a multirailed psu

donutbear

Honorable
Feb 23, 2012
Ok so this is my first time posting and i need some help. i recently upgraded my system with a second gtx 470 for sli as well as a patriot pyro 60gb ssd, and to power this i needed to upgrade my xfx 650w psu. i replaced the psu with a kingwin lazer 1000w psu. now here is were the trouble comes, i was all good with the single rail desing of the xfx psu however making the jump to the 1000w multi rail kingwin psu has been a massive source of frustration. i cant for the life of me figure out how to balance the load on it as a result everytime i try and do something video intensive the computer will shut off(furmark causes instant shutdown). if someone could explain to me how to balance the connections on the power supply i would isnanly gratefull.

here is a link with a full run down of the psu:http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&file=print&reid=168
i am using the hardwired 6 pin and 6+2 pin pci adaptor for the first gpu, i need help connecting 2 standalone 6pin pci adaptors for the second gpu as well as the 4pin connectors for case fans and the serial ata power connector

full system specs:
2x galaxy gtx 470 in sli
8gb g.skill ripjaws 1600mhz ram
amd phenom ii x4 965
corsair h60 cpu cooler
patriot pyro 60gb ssd
kingwin lazer 1000w psu

donutbear

Honorable
Feb 23, 2012
As far as I. An tell its Psu related and the fact I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing with the multiple rails. All the components were working fine under the 650w Psu minus the second CPU. The fact that within a second of furmark and about 5 secondsof an HD video it crashes makes it seem like I'm overloading a rail or something.

The Kingwin Lazer 1000W really has only three +12V rails despite what the label shows.

The non-modular 20+4 pin ATX main power cable is by itself on 12V4.