Computer turns on and off. Dead cpu or mobo?

kole9273

Honorable
Feb 23, 2012
Hello Everyone!

My computer has stopped working, it keeps shutting off and on. I have narrowed it down to what I think is a dead cpu or mobo. I'll explain how this happened:

I'm a completely newbie/ not very educated in computer hardware. I opened up my computer just to take a look at it and mess with some things. I took off the cpu fan and the cpu, and then I replaced it back in (without putting more thermal grease, which I did not know about at the time). I put everything back together and started up my computer. It didnt want to start at first, but then it started normally. I updated my Bios, and while it was updating my computer shut off mid-update. I turned it back on and it said that the cpu had overheated, and then it started normally again before it finally shut off and never returned to the POST screen.

Nothing shows up on the monitor. It may just stay running or shut on an off. After i put it back together it had beeped the code for a thermal trip (indicating cpu overheat or not enough thermal material).

I'm not very good at explaining things, so I made a short video showing my messed up computer in action: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iMGhELkrTok&feature=g-upl&context=G22fe990AUAAAAAAAAAA

Please help me figure out what is wrong.
Thank you everyone in advance! I know I was dumb messing with my computer without much knowledge in the subject, lesson learned.

sonexpc

Honorable
Feb 20, 2012
While you put back the cooling fan on the cpu ... did you take out the whole Motherboard and exam the mount.......I thing is bad contact cause your CPU overheart... take out the whole motherboard and remount the CPU Fan... make sure all 4 leg go thur the other side of the board...

kole9273

Honorable
Feb 23, 2012