Router cisco 1600 series

crx686

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2010
HI My name is Ben

My brother gave me a cisco 1600 series router, which is a 1601. I would like to put it on my network. This is how my network setup I have wild blue internet and the modem is hooked up to my PFSENSE box's which is running the network. What I want to do is hook the modem up to the cisco , but still have my pfsense box's running. All the cisco is going to do is supply the internet. I've been looking up on the internet on how to do this and I'm not getting anywhere. I am new to these kind of routers. I want to learn on how to set them up and learn the commands. If there's anyone that can help me or show me the direction that would be great thanks for your time

Ben

what exactly are you trying to accomplice?

the reason you want the Cisco installed is because you like to have wireless? or are trying to create two separate networks?

I prefer pfSence over the Cisco as my firewall.

crx686

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2010
No this router doesn't have wireless. I already have a wireless router in place. All this router is going to do is supply the internet. I still want my PFSENSE box's to be the DHCP server still. The only reason why I want to put this router on my network is so I can learn how to set it up and configure it. The routers that i have is all web based configuration which makes it easy but this cisco is command line, which has no web based config on it. you know what i mean? I just want to learn how to use it, which i need help on.

I think there is not much you have to change.

Replace the pfSence with the Cisco but make sure the Cisco DHCP is turned off. the CISCO IP should be the IP of your old gateway.

Connect the NIC, that used to be your internal NIC, to the switch. Change the IP of that NIC.

I hope this will work for you

crx686

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2010