Nov 26, 2011
Hey guys,

A couple of days ago I've put together a HTPC with the following components:
- Motherboard: Asrock A75-HVS
- CPU: AMD A4-3400
- RAM: Corsair 4GB - 1333MHz
- HDD: Samsung Eco Green 2TB - 5400 rpm
- PSU: BeQuiet Pure Power L7 300 Watt

When I first started it up, the pc booted up correctly (and it keeps running) and the case / CPU fans started spinning, but I didn't get any video output. The monitor goes into standby mode after about 5 seconds, 'cause it doesn't pick up any signal at all.

What I've tried:
- 2 different monitors
- both the VGA out as the HDMI out
- CMOS reset / battery in - out
- reassembling all the components

Is there anything I'm missing?
To be honest: it's my first build in years, but I like to think that I know what I'm doing.

Thank you in advance for any feedback!

microfi

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2011

There is only 1 RAM stick.
I've tried booting it without an HDD, but no luck.

Thank you for the suggestions!

toneekay

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2011
Hmm... I'm not too familiar with the Llano processors, but it looks like your little setup there isn't getting enough power.

Have you tried starting it up with at least a reputable 400w+ power supply? I'm not too sure what the minimum power requirements are on this processor but it really looks like the 300w is holding you back.

microfi

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2011

That would really surprise me.
I chose the LIano setup, because it's so energy efficient ...

toneekay

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2011
Like I said, I'm not too familiar with the Llanos, however I came to the conclusion of lack of power due to comparing the graphics portion of the processor to a discrete card. In this case, I thought the 5450/6450's were just about the same performance and those require at least a 400w power supply.

microfi

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2011
In the meanwhile, I've been doing a little more research and found these reviews on Newegg.com.