Your question

A pc for 3d modeling/rendering

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
November 27, 2011 2:38:02 AM

Hi, I'm new here and this is my first time building a computer. I've read about the different components and they are all a little overwhelming. So, I'm hoping for some help from you folks...

The budget is around $600. I plan to use this pc mainly for 3d studio max and photoshop, and the simple tasks like web surfing and word processing. I don't plan to game much. Computer animation is a hobby (has been for a while now), so I'm not looking for amazing performances here... just an upgrade from my 5-6 years old pc.

Is the following a decent setup? (I'm very new at this stuff)

-amd phenom II X6 1100t Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo Socket AM3 125W six-core

-asus m4a88t-m am3 amd 880g hdmi micro atx amd motherboard

-corsair xms3 16gb (4x4gb) 240-pin ddr3 sdram ddr3 1600 (pc12800)

-sapphire 100315L radeon HD 6850 1gb 256-bit gddr5 pci express 2.1x16 hdcp ready crossfireX support video card with eyefinity

-antec earthwatts green ea-430d green 430w continuous power atx12v v2.3/eps12v 80 plus

-antec three hundred black steel atx mid tower computer case

-lite-on dvd burner- bulk black sata model ihas124-04-oem

Thanks for any help! :) 

More about : modeling rendering

November 27, 2011 5:30:14 AM

Id look for an AM3+ motherboard with the 880g chipset

ASUS M5A88-M AM3+ AMD 880G $105
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

It can be upgraded to later processors , and it has on board graphics [ still] so you can leave out the gaming graphics card entirely . A graphics card wont speed rendering , and the on board works well .
You could add a quaddro or firepro at some stage but you wont need them now

Ideally use RAM that runs at 1.5 volt , again to allow future upgrades
m
l
November 27, 2011 9:33:28 PM