New driver installation

demoose

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2011
I recently saw a guy on Newegg advising people to download only the Lan driver from the motherboard CD and then go online from the manufacturers website, and download the remaining drivers individually like the chipset, audio, usb etc..

As a novice like me, this sounds all very complicated. Can't I just visit the manufacturers website and download the latest drivers for the specific motherboard & video card I have as a whole? Do I really have to download the drivers individually? And if that's the case, why do motherboards & graphics cards come with drivers on the CD?

Coming back to the fact that I'm no expert at defining which drivers I should download, if in doubt, should I use the CD drivers which came with motherboard & graphics card, then visit their respective websites and download any updated versions or is that not recommended?

I thought downloading the drivers would of been the easiest part of building a computer. Now having watched that tutorial on Newegg I'm worried that once my computer is finally up and running I would get the driver installation all wrong.

Maybe I'm missing something here. Please help.

the drivers come on cd for those people in the world who dont actually have access to the internet--yes there are still some

yes you could install them from the cd then go update them from the website--but why install them twice

install chipset drivers first then reboot--install lan drivers

use windows update it will find most of your other drivers for you or all of them depending on your hardware

any it doesnt then get from manufacturers website

It's kinda hard to use the internet sometimes when ya on a network and haven't installed the LAN driver yet :) ...it's the LAN driver that gives the machine internet access.