Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Need help on $1500 future build

Last response: in Systems
November 27, 2011 6:38:40 AM

Approximate Purchase Date: Late Jan. to Early Feb.

Budget Range: $1500 after rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Mostly Gaming, Photo editing, minor video projects

Parts Not Required: Already have mouse, keys and speakers/headphones and monitor

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg or Tiger Direct

Parts Preferences: Intel

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: 24-inch, 1920x1080 I think.

Additional Comments: Absolutely most bang for buck, and I hope to land as close to my budget as possible, no more $100 bucks less or more if possible.

So, I'm not building this until late Jan. early Feb. and I know some new stuff is coming out. It's my first build. I realize were not psychics, but can you guys help me plan for the future, should I go Ivy or Sandy type things. I have only a loose parts list, nothing too set in stone. If I have to sacrifice in one area to improve a more important component that's cool. You guys are the experts. I appreciate your help!

Here is what I know:

Case: Cooler Master SGC-5000-KKN1 CM Storm Trooper Full Tower Case - (can compromise if it comes down to it)

Graphics: EVGA 015-P3-1582-AR GeForce GTX 580 SuperClocked Video Card

More about : 1500 future build

November 27, 2011 7:57:29 AM

yeah if you want Ivy bridge theres not much to do for now but imo an i5 2500-k like mentioned above on a descent midline board of either the p67 or z68 chipset would serve you well for the next year or three and give some of the new ivy b boards time to work out glitches etc. and maybe even drop in price before you have to upgrade.
As far as the gpu goes 'Im an nvidea kind of guy and I dont do much with radeon to know the diff other than read reviews. I understand from reviews that there is a mid range area where n videa is lacking but on the higher end nvidea leads the pack.