Sign in with
Your question

Is the MSI Z77A-GD65 mobo good for overclocking and SLI?

Last response: in Motherboards
January 5, 2013 2:09:24 AM

Ok so I'm currently looking into build my own PC. I want to build one that I wont have to upgrade for a while and if I do decide to I could just overclock my CPU or add another GPU. This is the first computer that I've ever tried building and I'm new to the computer building scene altogether.

These are the parts I've chosen so far:
CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge @ 3.4GHz
Mobo: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3
Video Card: EVGA 02G-P4-2680-KR GeForce GTX 680 2GB
PSU: CORSAIR AX860 860W
Case: Corsair Obsidian Series 650D
SSD: Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB
HDD: I've yet to choose a HDD

I've read up on the compatibility of most of these parts and know that the motherboard has the right slot for my cpu, supports SLI, is good for my dual channel RAM and fits into my case but I'm not an expert at any of this and barely know anything about power supplies or overclocking and SLI. I'd just like some reassurance that all these parts are compatible and will be easy to overclock and add parts to later on.
a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2013 4:53:17 AM

cheesytower1 said:
Ok so I'm currently looking into build my own PC. I want to build one that I wont have to upgrade for a while and if I do decide to I could just overclock my CPU or add another GPU. This is the first computer that I've ever tried building and I'm new to the computer building scene altogether.

These are the parts I've chosen so far:
CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge @ 3.4GHz
Mobo: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3
Video Card: EVGA 02G-P4-2680-KR GeForce GTX 680 2GB
PSU: CORSAIR AX860 860W
Case: Corsair Obsidian Series 650D
SSD: Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB
HDD: I've yet to choose a HDD