Advice on a i7 3630k build vs a 2600k build?

n00berry

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2011
Hello experts,

I am shopping to build my first desktop. I am trying to which of two possible builds to complete. One potential build is based on an Intel i7 2600k. The other potential build is based on an Intel i7 3630k.

I was hoping that one of the very helpful experts in this forum could point out any mistakes I might be making, or offer any advice about choosing between the builds.

I will have two main uses for the desktop:
- I am a grad student in the physical sciences, and I run a lot of python and compiled C++ code for my research. My analysis involves applying various selections to a large dataset, and extra cores help.
- I play video games occasionally. I like Civ 5, and I would like to play Skyrim.

I have a few restrictions for the desktop:
- I would like to overclock the CPU (maybe the GPU?) of whatever I build.
- I would like the PC to run quietly, if possible. I see a lot of comments along the lines of "Play with headphones if noise is a problem for you." I won't be the only person in the room, so that's not an option for me.
- I will buy the components in the USA when I visit my family for the holidays, but I will build the computer at my home in Europe, where prices are higher. I'll have to wait a year before my next trip to the US, so waiting for Intel ivy bridge CPUs or nvidia kepler GPUs is not an attractive option.

Both builds include:
- RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 16GB (4 x 4GB), DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) [USD 84.99]
- GPU: ASUS NVIDIA GTX 580 [USD 509.99]
- Power supply: LEPA G900-MA, 900W, 80Plus Gold PS [USD 179.99]
- Optical drive: ASUS DRW-24B3ST/LT DVD Drive [USD 29.99]
- HDD: Caviar Green 1TB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive WD10EARS [USD 139.99]
- SSD: Vertex 3 SSD Series 60GB SATA 6.0Gb/s Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) with SandForce 2281 Controller [USD 119.99]
- Case: Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower [USD 54.99]