How does this seem for a gaming build?

sgrey

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2011
Hey everyone, just wanted to see what you think about this gaming build i was building with black friday deals from newegg. I plan on running 1920 x 1080 on my main screen for gaming, and possibly like 1680 x 1050 on a secondary screen for running videos or web browsing. I'm not sure if my older screen that i may use as secondary can handle above that resolution, because thats its highest currently with my older geforce 8800 gt card. This is my first attempt at building a pc though, so any help is appreciated. Also not sure what i should overclock the cpu speed to be.

My current set up with the parts im getting are:

asus p8p67 pro rev 3.1 lga 1155 motherboard

intel i5-2500k quad core processor

hyper 212 cooler master heat sink fan for overclocking cpu and keeping it cool

crucial m4 64gb SSD sata 3 drive for OS and maybe a few games

2 geforce 560 ti graphics cards in sli, both evga but two different models, i heard that the first one tends to run hot in sli so when i got the second card i decided to get a dual fan model, but both have the same general specs and are the evga superclocked models

23" Acer widescreen monitor with 1920 x 1080 support

asus blu ray dvd/vd reader/writer

seasonic x750 power supply, 750W 80% Gold rated

rosewill THOR V2 case

8 GB corsair vengeance (2 x 4GB) 240 pin DDR3 1600

Solution
Build looks pretty good. A couple of suggestions:

- Stay away from the bulk Asus DVD burners - they are terrible. Lite-On, Sony, Plextor, and so many others are much better.

- Make sure you get the low profile Vengeance RAM if you're going to be installing an aftermarket cooler. The giant heat sinks on the standard Vengeance RAM make working with large coolers extremely difficult.

- I'm not a big fan of Rosewill cases - the ones I've used tend to be really cheaply made. My go-to case is usually the Corsair Carbide, but also look at the NZXT Phantom and Cooler Master HAF 922.