Status
Not open for further replies.

TechHunter16

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2011
I know I've posted this before, but the post has disappeared into the depths of the forum, so I decided to post it again, since you can't bump.

OP:
"So, I am making a new build for general use, gaming, and rendering (Photoshop/game design). These are the parts I have picked out. Since this is my first build, I just need someone to check them to make sure they are all compatible. Also, If anyone has any suggestions for something I should replace, feel free to give it :)

Main Components

Case: Thermaltake VM20001W2Z Armor A60
Mobo: ASUS P8P67 Pro B3 Intel P67 Motherboard (possibly MSI Z68A-GD80 (G3) Intel Z68)
RAM: Kingston KHX1600C9D3K2/8G
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K BX80623I72600K Unlocked (possibly 2700k)
GPU: PowerColor AX6950 2GBD5-2DH Radeon HD 6950 (getting two of these)
Slave Drive: Western Digital WD1002FAEX Caviar Black
Main Drive: Western Digital WD3200AAKS Caviar Blue
PSU: Corsair HX850W 850w
Monitors: Acer G235hAbd 23" Widescreen LCD (getting three of these)
Optical Drive: Liteon iHAS324 24X DVD-RW SATA

Extras

Extra Fan: Aerocool LightWave
Liquid Cooling: Corsair CWCH50-1 Hydro H50
Fan Controller: NZXT Sentry LX
Flash Card Reader: Sabrent CRW-UINB

Thank you."

I got one response about changing my CPU to a 2700k, and my mobo to Z68, which I'm assuming is this:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1125285&CatId=7212

Now, there is one other thing. I got the suggestion for the PSU on these forums, and I went along with it, until I noticed that each of my GPUs need 500w at least. Having two of those would exceed 850w easily, not including processor or anything else that needs power. Would the PSU still work, as it was suggested by someone on these forums, knowing how much power the GPUs take?

Solution