boxofbread

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2011
Hello,

I am very new to computers and bought a computer desktop i7 2600k sandy bridge about a month ago and I need opinions on what to upgrade in order to play games like battlefield 3 and able to play 5.1-7.1 speakers.

Specs:

CPU Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Quad-Core Desktop Processor.
Motherboard: Biostar H61MU3 (B3 stepping) LGA 1155 Intel H61 HDMI USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
Vidoe Card: Intel HD Graphics 3000 (integrated)
Memory: High Speed 4GB DDR3 Gaming Memory
Hard Drive: 1TB Hard Drive
DVD Burner: 24x DVD SATA Dual-Layer Burner
Case: ATX Mid Tower Case with 500W PSU
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

theitaliansico

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011
Look into these. Both cards will run BF3 on high settings or at least reccomended settings.
GTX 560 ti 1GB
Amd Radeon 6950 2GB
Make sure your Power supply can handle these Graphics cards. 500w is minimum to run either one. Both of these cards are big so keep in mind space in your tower.

boxofbread

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2011
Thanks, I'm just willing to spend a medium amount for a graphics card maybe around 100$ i dont really know how much these cost and wow do i have to spend 250 for the graphics card?

you will need a new psu regardless if you are running a no name come with the case psu. if you want to play bf3 with alot of high settings then you will need to spend money on a power supply and a minimum of 200 on a gpu
what power supply do you have atm ?

i want to know what brand, model, etc.? if you don't know, chances are its crap <no offense> and you will need to replace it along with your GPU. a cheap power supply can harm your system or catch fire, and also will give you a headache with under performing gpu's. the questions is, what type of performance would you settle for, and what is the max amount you would put down on a new upgrade?

boxofbread

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2011
ok if im looking at it right its a atx p4 power supply