Which CPU is better?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Cache
  • Processors
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
March 3, 2012 3:55:27 AM

AMD HDT35TWFGRBOX Phenom II X6 1035T Processor - Six Core, 6MB L3 Cache, 3MB L2 Cache, 2.60GHz (3.10GHz Max Turbo), Socket AM3, 95W, Fan, Retail
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...
1350&SRCCODE=LINKSHARE&cm_mmc_o=-ddCjC1bELltzywCjC-d2CjCdwwp&AffiliateID=iFudSkud_Rc-.2OWpVInxkRQUkBHH1fDQw

AMD FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor FD4100WMGUSBX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Which is better and why? One is 3.6 GHz and 4 cores and other is 2.60GHz but with 6...
Sorry if this is a stupid question but I'm still learning

More about : cpu

March 3, 2012 4:05:22 AM

bestnameever said:
AMD HDT35TWFGRBOX Phenom II X6 1035T Processor - Six Core, 6MB L3 Cache, 3MB L2 Cache, 2.60GHz (3.10GHz Max Turbo), Socket AM3, 95W, Fan, Retail
1350&SRCCODE=LINKSHARE&cm_mmc_o=-ddCjC1bELltzywCjC-d2CjCdwwp&AffiliateID=iFudSkud_Rc-.2OWpVInxkRQUkBHH1fDQw

AMD FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor FD4100WMGUSBX

Which is better and why? One is 3.6 GHz and 4 cores and other is 2.60GHz but with 6...

Given the same clock rate and a threaded app, the old x6 will murder the fx x4. The 1035t are bottom barrel when it comes to binning, so you might be able o get it higher than 3.5ghz, if that. The FX x4 will easily do 4gnz and most likely hit 4.2 or higher, and its unlocked, so easier OC. The x4 will also run cooler, so you can get buy with a lesser cooler. The x4 is also cheaper.

So unless you will running a lot of threaded apps, I would go with the FX-4100. Its a cheap quad core that should OC well, run cool, and run just about any non professional program out there very well.
m
l
a b à CPUs
March 3, 2012 4:06:58 AM

If you can push for a X6 1090T or 1100T you won't be disappointed, avoid the FX at all cost.
m
l
Related resources