A Tough, Cheap System for a Charity

datakeeper

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2011
------Here be jibber jabber so skip ahead matey to the relevant----
Well, after reading countless articles on Tom's I finally got an account. I'm happy to be here.
Quick Background: I am semi-new to PC Building. I understand the components, their differences (this doesn't apply to CPUs, I still don't quite understand the difference between AMD and Intel, why AMD's multi-core's are cheaper...CPUs...CPUs I'm still learning about), their similarities etc. I've made many a newegg wishlist for prospective builds with prices ranging from pennies to solid gold toilets for all kinds of reasons.

But I've only built 1 PC...A micro-itx. Long story short, that build was where I learned all the parts to a pc (at first I only bought a case, a motherboard, and a CPU. When I had done what I...did I realized something was missing. I would make a new trip every day or so to grab a part I had just heard I needed). When it was finally built...well...I learned that the most important part of a PC build is the cheapest: Anti-static straps and mats. The thing was fried.

But now I am here and I am here to share with you a PC Build I'm planning.

-----ACTUALLY RELEVANT INFO HERE...argh!-------

You see, every year for three weeks or so in January, for the last three years, I go to Guatemala. 2/3 of the trip is sightseeing, relaxing in Antigua while I learn some spanish, eating Pollo Campero (the best fried chicken in the world). But that third week is when I make use of those spanish lessons and I help the kids of Safe Passage.