My new i7 build.... :( :( :(

xxenergyxx

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2009
Hi guys.... I'm a college student and spent a little over 1k to build an i7 rig this past week. I got everything in today and set it up. This was my 2nd build.

All the parts used are in my sig. I booted up, made sure everything is connected to mobo, and all display is working properly.

I got into BIOS and immediately set boot priority to CD/ROM drive to boot Windows XP since I only have the Windows 7 upgrade CD so I needed to put some other windows on the Bare harddrive.

I uplugged the 500gb Westerdigital caviar green storage drive I have and ONLY let the OCZ agility 3 plugged in to boot windows.

I got to the windows XP loading screen and then got a blue screen:
DSC00446.jpg

I bought the i7 , gtx 570, ocz agility III, EVGA motherboard, and Patriot Xtreme RAM on black FRIDAY.

The Power supply, optical drive, and 500gb storage drive I'm re-using from another build.

What could this be? I was getting errors on my last computer, and I used the same power supply. I figure it can't be the optical drive nor 500gb western digital since that isn't even plugged in.

But I have heard of horrible reviews and with some SSDs and people having blue screens and errors trying to boot for the first time.

I dont know, I'm really bummed, I started building this computer today at 7:30PM and now it's 3:57AM, and I'm sad and delirious. Can anyone help me?

The computer is still on with that blue screen...should I just do a hard "power off" or maybe reset? manual shutdowns don't affect the physical components of the computer do they?

DSC00450-1-1.jpg

xxenergyxx

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2009
Lol, i'M So sorry. The AMD components in my sig were my last build.

And I have to reply now and let you guys know with the help of google, I was able to overcome the issue.

I don't know why, but for some reason the BIOS must be set on IDE instead of ACHI and it worked.

Crossing my fingers nothign else goes wrong....