Sign in with
Your question
Closed

New build/upgrade. Need Help!

Last response: in Systems
December 1, 2011 10:36:16 PM

Hi Everyone,

New to the forums here!

I had a few questions and I'd like to hear some opinions on what I should do. Currently I'm running a home-built pc that I've been gaming on for a few years now.

Specs:

AMD 64 x2 6000+
BFG 260 GTX
4 gigs PC6400 DDR2 Ram
Windows 32 Bit Pro
500gb WD HD.

Recently when the new Frostbite 2 games came out, and others (such as Skyrim) I have only been able to play them on medium to medium-high settings at 1920x1080. Before I was able to run games such as BFBC2 (frostbite 1) at maxed out Ultra graphics at that same resolution. I'm beginning to miss playing on maxed out graphics settings and am looking to spend some money on new parts. I'm already planning on making the switch to Windows 7 64 bit for this new build, but I was wondering what everyone would recommend I do with the Mobo, Cpu, Graphics Card, and Ram situation. I have about $500 to spend and would preferably get an AMD CPU (Phenom x4, x6, fx series) since it's what I've gone with in the past. I'm not big on overclocking much either. I am also looking into getting a new full or mid tower case (looking into either antec or cooler master if anyone has some recommendations for that) Thanks everyone!

More about : build upgrade

a c 84 B Homebuilt system
December 1, 2011 11:26:02 PM

You have a reasonably well balanced system.

I think you are looking at a bit more than $500, since only the case, dvd, and hard drive will be reusable.

A stronger graphics card might be in order now, and I suggest you try that first.
A limiting factor might be your current psu.
Here is what EVGA recommends for their graphics cards:

GTX550ti needs 400w with 24a on the 12v rails plus one 6-pin PCI-E power lead.

GTX560 needs 450w with 24a on the 12v rails plus two 6-pin PCI-E power leads.

GTX560Ti needs 500w with 30a on the 12v rails plus two 6-pin PCI-E power leads.