Sign in with
Your question

EVGA SR-2 - Should I risk it?

Last response: in Systems
December 2, 2011 12:28:37 AM

Hi everyone,

I've recently built my own computer; nothing too fancy.
Specs:
i7-950 (3.06ghz)
MSI GTX 570 Twin Frozr III
8 GB DDR3 RAM
ASRock X58 Extreme
500 GB Momentus XT

It is an air-cooled rig.

My friend who is looking for a gaming computer has just asked me to build him one. He wants me to install an EVGA SR-2 motherboard, with two water-cooled eVGA classified GTX 580's. It will have 24 GB of RAM (all water cooled) and two Xeon processors (both water-cooled). I am experienced in installing all the components, but I have no experience with water-cooling equipment.
Considering I haven't built a water-cooled system yet, should I put >$5000 on the line?

Will this case (Lian-Li V2120) suffice in housing water-cooling equipment?:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Someone commented on the product saying that they were able to fit a 3 x 120mm radiator into the machine. Do all 3 x 120 mm radiators have the same dimensions?

More about : evga risk

December 2, 2011 12:35:23 AM

Your friend is kind of umm, not very smart. The EVGA sr-2 motherboard is way way way overkill for gaming, as you can get an i5 2500k for much less, and a great motherboard. there is never a need to spend 5 grand on a gaming computer.
m
l
December 2, 2011 12:37:27 AM

Well it's a multi-person job to even begin to install a Classified SR-2. You'll need at least two PSUs if you're even going to attempt a liquid cooled setup. You can get by with an air cooled setup if you use Notcua D-14s and a ****load of fans in your case.

The Classified SR-2 is a big board - I will warn you. There's very few cases that can contain this thing on the market right now. It's so big that it created its' own form factor.

Maximum PC used this board as the basis for their "Dream Machine" 2010 issue. You should read this to get some ideas before you proceed: