Sign in with
Your question
Solved

CPU temperature help

Last response: in CPUs
March 6, 2012 5:21:23 AM

Hey guys,

I bought my computer around August 2011 and all is well, no issues.

Its an i5-2400 and I'm still using the stock fan/heatsink.

I was looking up the maximum temperature for the CPU and its around 72.6 celsius, anyway when I'm playing on Mafia 2 which is fairly demanding, after about 30 minutes-1hr my CPU temp recording goes to about 75-80, the graphics card stays reasonable at about 60-70 ( its a gts 250).

My question is basically this:

Are these recordings to high to be playing the game, should I be getting a new CPU cooler, if so; which CPU cooler would you guys recommend that is affordable, I have no experience with actually replacing them so if it involves removing the motherboard I'd need to find a computer tech.

The socket I have is an LGA 1155

Thanks

More about : cpu temperature

Best solution

a b à CPUs
March 6, 2012 5:24:25 AM

Those temps are fine for playing the game. Worry when it gets 95-100 or more, then you can get scared! Replacing the cooler is purely optional...
March 6, 2012 5:26:17 AM

Yeah well the CPU temp doesn't reach over 80 so far, I'll wait for some more input on it, but thanks for the quick reply!
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
March 6, 2012 5:33:38 AM

The max temp for Sandy Bridge CPUs is 98C.
m
l
March 6, 2012 5:36:22 AM

Your temps are inside your CPU's thermal limits so its ok...
m
l
March 6, 2012 5:44:34 AM

chaingang64 said:
Hey guys,

I bought my computer around August 2011 and all is well, no issues.

Its an i5-2400 and I'm still using the stock fan/heatsink.

I was looking up the maximum temperature for the CPU and its around 72.6 celsius, anyway when I'm playing on Mafia 2 which is fairly demanding, after about 30 minutes-1hr my CPU temp recording goes to about 75-80, the graphics card stays reasonable at about 60-70 ( its a gts 250).

My question is basically this: