Sign in with
Your question

DuoCore E6850 3ghz + Asus P5n-D newbie Overclocking

Last response: in CPUs
March 6, 2012 2:40:25 PM

Hello :) 
Im very new to overclocking and had very little experience with it before.
But as iv looked trough the internet i think i got it.
First of all my DuoCore E6850 seems to be a legend within overclocking communities. As well as my motherboard which should be quite good to.

So Increas Front side Bus (FSB) until it gets unstable, than take it down til its stable. Than increas voltage in small steps while keeping an eye on the temprature. Than i can increas the FSB a bit more right?

I havent understod yet, how to deal with or OC the RAM so i guess ill keep the bios setting to linked.

My cpu isnt open so cant modify the multiplayer.

Im using cpu-z and Fan speed. Are this good enough or should i get something els.

And for testing stability im not sure what to use or whats best. As there are so many softwares for just that.
Thx a lot by a newbie overclocker.
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
March 6, 2012 3:12:56 PM

For stability use Prime95 or Intel Burn Test. You should also get an aftermarket cooler.
You didn't mention what RAM you have. Basically divide you RAM by 2 and that's the maximum FSB you can use safely with a memory multiplier of 2.
Example: you have some DDR2 800MHz RAM. That would mean a maximum FSB of 400.
March 6, 2012 3:36:31 PM

Ah i see. Well i got 2x
DIMM1: Corsair 2GB
XMS2 CM2X2048-6400C5 DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM
(5-5-5-18 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-13 @ 270 MHz)
Didnt know there was a multiplayer for RAM.

Related resources
March 6, 2012 3:55:44 PM

RAM multiplier options only exist if you motherboard actually supports it. If you can't find it, don't even bother, if you insist it should hurt your overall stability if not sets properly. What akxpckwb mentions also correct.

Just keep in mind, overclocking is opposed to longevity. I hope you understand the risk before even doing it.
March 6, 2012 4:02:13 PM