Need help buying new card

iahwhite

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2009
Hey guys!

I am going to buy a new graphics card to play all of the top of the line games (BF3, Skyrim, etc.) and I want something really powerful that will last a few years (or at least will PROBABLY last a few years, I know how things can develop rather quickly). I was hoping the community could help me pick out something really good. I am looking for top of the line stuff here, but if I can get a card that will save me some money at the cost of only a few fps that would be fantastic. I think the specs I will provide will be enough for you guys to help me find a card that will work on my system. Thanks a ton in advance, I am a noob :p

My specs are as follows:

Motherboard: ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDX945FBGIBOX

PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular High Performance Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandybridge Core i3 i5 i7 and AMD Phenom

RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TW3X4G1600C9DHX

What is your budget?

I would agree with jtt283, a GTX570 would probably be your best options.Although I don't know why he suggested a 6970 since it's more expensive yet it performs the same as a GTX570.

Although a GTX570 might get bottlenecked by your current CPU and I think it would be wise to O.C.

iahwhite

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2009
I can go up to $350 I guess. I'm looking at the graphics charts for Metro 2033 1920 x 1080, 4x MSAA, 16xAF, and it seems like those two cards only have about 30fps unless they are crossfired or SLI. Do you guys think I won't be able to get BF3 and skyrim and other high end games up to 50fps without crossfiring?

Check benchmarks to see if your intended games heavily favor nVidia or ATi (that's why I suggested those two cards; it may depend on the game which you'd prefer).