Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Not sure type of motherboard is needed for cpu

Last response: in Motherboards
January 11, 2013 12:08:51 PM

I need some one to tell me is there any difference between core i7 and 3rd gen core i7 when chosing a motherboard? This is my first time building a desktop so I'm just looking at components right now. The CPU I'm currently looking at is the

Intel Core i7-3770 Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I73770

When I looked on newegg and filtered my search when I chose 3rd gen i7 as CPU I only had 3 to chose from and they 2 weren't meant for a gaming build and the last had a very low customer rating. Thanks to anyone who can help me.
a c 559 V Motherboard
a c 114 à CPUs
January 11, 2013 3:40:31 PM

Hi, I would go with Z77 chipset boards. Use this for narrowing your search.
After choosing one, search on the manufacturer site for the CPU Support List and make sure that the CPU is supported without a BIOS update needed.
Most Z77 ASUS boards feature the flashback, that allow you to update the BIOS without starting the board.
m
l
January 11, 2013 4:06:38 PM

Hi,

I recommend the Sabertooth Z77 board to go with this CPU, very good board with tons of features!

Good Luck!
m
l
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
a b à CPUs
January 11, 2013 4:16:38 PM

Don't go for the Sabertooth, highly overrated.... P8z77-V Pro is a quality board for less than the sabertooth.
m
l
a c 253 V Motherboard
a c 331 à CPUs
January 11, 2013 4:30:21 PM

What will you be using the pc for?

If it is for gaming, then the less expensive 3570K would be better.
If it is for cpu bound multithreaded apps, then the 3770K would be better.
The "K" suffix gives you an unlocked multiplier which in conjunction wit a Z77 based socket 1155 motherboard can give you 20% more compute power. The 5% price delta is well worth it in my opinion, even if you do not use it initially.