Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Need Advice on a Gaming Build

Last response: in Systems
December 3, 2011 4:39:19 AM

Hello everyone, I'm posting on this forum because I am a first time builder looking for some help with my first gaming build. I plan on building it around the i5 Sandy Bridge 2500k.

Approximate Purchase Date: Plan to buy parts over time but should be completed in about 3 months.

Budget Range: 500-900 Before/ After Rebate. I may be able to push $1000 if I have to. I was hoping for it to be something of a budget build.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming>all else

Parts Not Required: CPU, OS (will probably go with Win 7 Pro)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Any site I can trust. If you can recommend places that generally give good deals, that would be great as well.

Parts Preferences: Again, I'd like to go with the i5 Sandy Bridge 2500k. I'm looking at using a Z68 for the mobo. No preference for nVidia vs. ATI.

Overclocking: Not right away but I would like the option available

SLI or Crossfire: Not right away but I would like the option available

Monitor Resolution: What would you recommend? Nothing over $200 please.

Additional Comments: I'm looking for something that can bring me through the next couple of years, where I can upgrade as needed. I am also looking to not break the bank. As I said, I'm new to the whole building process and so I'm still learning all of ins and outs. Thank you in advance everyone!

More about : advice gaming build

Best solution

a b 4 Gaming
December 4, 2011 12:10:42 AM

As you may have noticed, the big unexpected expense right now is the HDD. If you have access to a used SATA drive it would be recommended. Get an SSD now and a used HDD and add a new HDD when prices drop in 6-8 months.

CPU and ASRock board
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?Ite...

8GB Corsair RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Rosewill case

Corsair 750W PSU

6950 2GB

Asus monitor