GA-Z77X-D3H boot loop

The_Outlander

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2013
*DISCLAIMER: I am a huge noob this is my first build (although I upgraded a few components on my current computer)"

So after going through the trauma of having to RMA my first cpu and carefully installing the replacement I am now experiencing what I'd describe as a "boot loop". Basically, when I hit the power button the dvd drive and the graphics card fan start up and the front panel power light blinks on and then it all goes off 3 second later only to come back on in another 3 seconds and then this process repeats infinitely until I hold the power button down. The cpu fan does not even come on.

The 24 pin connector is in as is the cpu power connector. The cpu fan is connected. I am 99% sure that the bolts underneath the board are in the correct positions (although I will probably end up checking that later anyway). I have rechecked the front panel connections a few times. I have read that polarity doesn't matter for the power and reset connectors so I didn't bother switching them around. I did try leaving the reset switch connector unplugged, but it didn't help. I tried booting with a graphics card and without one. I also tried using only one stick of ram in a different slot.

In my uneducated opinion the problem has to be the motherboard (although I suppose it is possible that newegg gave me a faulty heatsink with my replacement cpu). My plan right now is just to RMA the motherboard and hope for the best.

My first question is this: Is there anything else I should try before I give up and RMA the thing?

My second question is: If the motherboard is indeed defective is it possible that my cpu is now damaged as a result?

EDIT: I forgot my cpu is a i7-3770 Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz

sgtjeep

Honorable
Jan 12, 2013