Sign in with
Your question

Computer case size problem (GPU wont fit)

Last response: in Components
March 9, 2012 12:33:09 AM

Hello,
I'm very new to this whole world of computers so bear with me here.
I'm having a problem with my new graphics card being too big for my computer. Yes, it has the PCI Express slot. However, the card wouldn't fit. The guy at the store said that I would have to settle for a less powerful graphics card because of this.
Here's some links:

This is my PC:

http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml...

This is the graphics card I bought:

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=...

Thanks!
a b ) Power supply
March 9, 2012 12:54:00 AM

Either a new graphics card or you can get a new case and transfer everything out of your existing case.
m
l
March 9, 2012 12:56:19 AM

How does it not fit? Does it block sata cables and therefore it's not plug-able? Does it not fit lenght wise? Hits the hard drive box?

Also I see you tried to place a gtx560ti into a oem pc which has a crappy psu. Even if the gpu were to fit, the psu would not be able to feed the gpu.

Given your pc's psu and the dimensions I'd recommend a HD 7750. This card consumes very little power and is most likely small enough to fit in your pc.

m
l
Related resources
a b ) Power supply
a b U Graphics card
March 9, 2012 1:00:31 AM

Yeap. This graphics card will never fit into this case. And even if it could, your power supply would obviously not be able to feed this card's power needs. With just 300W of power you can't do much. I would definitely recommend upgrading your PSU (probably go for 500W).
m
l
a b ) Power supply
March 9, 2012 1:00:47 AM

I'm guessing looking at the pics of the case he got from MicroCenter that it is physically impossible to put it in that case. My original suggestions stand, with one adjustment. You only have a 300W power supply. You will probably need to go to 450W to drive your GPU properly...
m
l
a b ) Power supply