Sh0es

Honorable
Jan 13, 2013
Hello, I want to upgrade my laptops hard drive to an SSD, but I don't know if the motherboard supports SSD. The model is JE70 HR. I am on an acer aspire 7750G-2436G64mnkk

Should be no problem, But I would go into the BIOS and see what the options for controlling the HDD are - IDE, AHCI, SATA, You want to be able to set the BIOS to AHCI.

I've installed SSDs into 3 laptops, One was older Toshibia Core dual Intel CPU. Other was a core 2 daul, and finally a Samsung i5-2410M (SB) laptop.

Sh0es

Honorable
Jan 13, 2013
Best I could find was "SATA mode" and there it asked me to choose between ahci and ide. Is that it?

I'm a newbie so sorry if I ask some silly questions.

Yes, select sata then Ahci.
So you should be fine.

The big diff is that with ide selected, performance would take a hit (still better than a HDD) - But also Trim while it may show as enabled would NOT be passed to the SSD.
With AHCI selected trim will be Passed to the SSD. This helps maintain close to manuf specs for performance.

So Get it and ENJOY.

PS - for Notebooks my choice is:
Samsung 840 Pro -> Crucial M4 -> Samsung 830.
Samsung 840 Pro is best, Highest performance @ lowest power consumption. BUT HIGHEST cost.
.. NOTE: Have reservations on standard 840 and would Like to wait longer before recommending.
Crucial M4 and Samsung 830 have very close to the same real life performance, simular reliability (Very good). M4 has lower power consumption on read/writes than 830. Currently using M4 in my laptops and 830 in Desktops.
NOTE: also recommend the Plextor M3/M5 which are very simular the the Crucial m4 in that they both use the marvel Controller, But normally higher priced than M4 or 830s.

While I love my Crucial M3's (Have both the 128 gig and the 256 gig versions) - DO NOT recomment the NEW Crucial M5.