Opinions on new gaming build

fireman166

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2011
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the site but picking up lots of great info. I'm building a new gaming rig and wanted to get your opinions.

Here's the important bits:

Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen 3
i5-2500k
16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 RAM (will be upgrading this at some point in near future)
Thermaltake Chaser MK-I Chassis
Crucial M4 128gb(x2) Raid0 - 256gb total
1.5tb drive being repurposed from my current Dell XPS
Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler
900W Apevia Warlock Power Supply
Sapphire Radeon 6950 Dirt 3 Edition (will be adding a 2nd at some point)

Anything I'm overlooking or should change? I'm relatively new to this but looking forward to building for the first time!

Thanks everyone.

jacknhut

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2010

I would change the PSU to either Seasonic X 850W or Corsair AX 850W or OCZ ZX 850W.

danraies

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2011
What you have is pretty good, but I have some suggestions about how to get more gaming performance out of your dollar.

I agree with jacknhut that you should change power supplies. Brand name makes a difference in that category.

First, you will not need 16GB of RAM for anything right now, much less an upgrade from that. I recommend starting with 8GB of RAM and upgrading only if you find yourself running out. Some people (like myself) have very specific applications that use a whole lot of RAM, but for almost everything (including games) 8GB is fine.

Also, hard drive speed should not really be a high priority in a gaming machine. An SSD is nice, but the functional difference between a single M4 and a RAID0 will be slight if any. It's not uncommon to put two SSD's in RAID0, but I think the money may be better spent elsewhere.