Sign in with
Your question
Solved

My first build! Suggestions, not sure if I need a gpu...

Last response: in Systems
December 5, 2011 11:17:03 PM

This is my first time building a system, I have it up and running already. The only thing that I don't have yet is a graphics card and I am not sure if I need it or not? I'm not a gamer, I do some video/photo editing and watch/stream movies on pc. I do like speed, and would like this build to last a few years. Would I benefit from a graphics card? If so which would best for my needs? All components for my build are still under 30 days so I can still make changes, feel free to make suggestions. If I could have done better for my money please let me know.

Case: Antec 300 case
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU: i5 2500k
Heatsink: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
Ram: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB ( I'm know this is over kill but it was cheap)
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer Series HCG-620 620W
HDD: Western digital caviar blue 500gb
GPU: none
fans,dvd drives, etc

Total spent: $560

More about : build suggestions gpu

Best solution

December 5, 2011 11:25:05 PM

I think overall this is a pretty good build. For general computing it may be a bit much, you could have probably gone with an i3-2100 if still going Sandy Bridge, as well as using a smaller PSU (somewhere in the <500W range).

With that being said, for general use this CPU will last quite a while, and if you do choose to add a GPU, which you should only do if you plan on gaming/video decoding/computing, you'll have a pretty mean gaming system.

So, I guess in summary I think if you feel like returning some things, you could definitely go with an i3-2100:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

as well as a smaller PSU:

December 5, 2011 11:38:02 PM

Fmaj731 said: