Dec 6, 2011
Approximate Purchase Date: December 11 to January 15

Budget Range: <$800

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Work, Internet

Parts Not Required: Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Microcenter , Newegg

Overclocking: Maybe in the future

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe in the future

Monitor Resolution: 1280 x 1084 (may upgrade if I've got enough money leftover)

CPU: ($180) Intel i5 2500k - I've got a store less than 2 hours away, probably worth the time/gas unless a better deal comes around

Motherboard: ($95) BIOSTAR TZ68A+

Memory: ($39) Kingston 8GB DDR3 1333

Video Card: ($130) GIGABYTE Ultra Durable VGA Series GV-R685OC-1GD Radeon HD 6850

Case: ($50) HAF 912

HDD: ???

Power: ($40) OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W or ($50) CORSAIR Builder Series CX500

Total: $635 before shipping/tax

Concerns: This is my first build.

Did I choose the right motherboard? Or should I go with something cheaper?

Which power supply should I go with?

As for HDD, I've heard that conventional are very high priced right now. Should I go with a 500GB for $85 or should I go with a SSD and expand later? If the later, how much space do I need on a SSD if I want it to be my primary drive?

How is my case choice?

Solution

Do NOT - repeat DO NOT - go with something cheaper. Biostar is not a good brand of motherboard. Spend a little bit more and get something from Gigabyte or Asrock. I'd recommend one of these:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157271
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128512

Go with the Builder Series - for the price they are really excellent, solidly constructed PSUs. But you may want to up it to the 600W version just to be future proof. I have the 430W version and it has been very reliable so far.

As for HDD, I've heard that conventional are very high priced...

g-unit1111

Titan