Sign in with
Your question

First Htpc build

Last response: in Systems
December 6, 2011 5:55:52 PM

Ok here is what I have gotten so far. My goal is it needs to be portable so I can watch movies at work and it needs to be quiet. This is my first htpc build but I have built computers before so Im not a total noob.

Case- Silverstone Sugo Series SG05BB-450 Mini-ITX Case

Mobo- ASUS F1A75-IDELUXE F1A75 (/w wifi and bluetooth)

Dvd Drive- SAMSUNG 8X Slim Internal DVD Burner

HDD- 3tb hitachi 7200

CPU- AMD A8-3850 Llano 2.9GHz Socket FM1

Ram- Corsair 2x2gb 1600mhz CMX4GX3M2B1600C9 (old spare parts I had)

A few questions I have... Should I get better ram or more of it? What kind of software should I install? What OS should I be using?

Im thinking of using XBMC on a windows 7 x64. Things I still need to get are an aftermarket cooler and a slimline sata adapter for the dvd drive (kinda of retarded that it doesn't come with one). Do you think it would be possible to use a liquid CPU cooler? Im just trying to keep this as cool and quiet as possible. I dont plan on overclocking it. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks

More about : htpc build

December 6, 2011 6:00:56 PM

that's actually a beast system just like that... xbmc on windows 7 will work great with it... i wouldn't go for the liquid cooling it's not much more quiet, but the h60 should fit in that case if you want to give it a go. XBMC is the roxxor... I've replaced my 70$ a month satellite bill with hulu+ and Netflix on XBMC...
m
l
December 6, 2011 6:07:21 PM

That memory is fine and you in good shape overall. Most CPU coolers will fit that case, but look for a low profile like one of the ones below. While a water cooler would fit, there isn't much need for the additional expense.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Laptop DVD to SATA converter => http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Internal-Optical-Ada...